(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Jenufa (Opera) Australian Opera Company
Souvenir  Brochure 1979 Sydney Opera House


Jenůfa ( "Her Stepdaughter" in Czech) is an opera in three acts by Leoš Janáček to a Czech libretto by the composer, based on the play Její pastorkyňa by Gabriela Preissová. It was first performed at the Brno Theater, Brno, 21 January 1904. It was written between 1896 and 1902, and counts among the first operas written in prose.

The first of Janáček's operas in which his distinctive voice can clearly be heard, it is a grim story of infanticide and redemption. Like the playwright's original work, it is known for its unsentimental realism. While today it is heard in the composer's original version, Jenůfa's early popularity was fostered by a revision by Karel Kovařovic of what was considered its eccentric style and orchestration.

Conductor - Charles Mackerras

Starring: Lone Koppel Winther, Rosina Raisbeck, Ron Stevens, Jennifer Bermingham, Cynthia Johnston, John German, Elizabeth Fretwell, Robert Gard, Dawn Walsk, Joseph Grunfelder, Miluska Simkova, Sandra Hahn, Elizabeth Allen


Size 215 x 305 mm Full Program with Great illustrations and Bio's on the Cast

Condition: Used  Looks Good - Souvenir Brochure

(Please Note scans are low res for fast loading)

Each Order will incur a $5.00 handling fee (including free shipping)
All Prices Shown are in USD (United States of America Dollars)
All Payments by Paypal Just Checkout as GUEST no need to register
All associated graphics, logos, trader marks, trade names or copyrights are the property of the original owner and are used here for factual and educational purposes only.
If there are any errors please contact us with corrections